Doses used in published trials
This list is built from the study database. It shows the dose the researchers chose in each study, and for how long. Follow a study’s link for its design, result and limits. Entries that gave beta-alanine or zinc-L-carnosine rather than carnosine say so in the dose field.
These are not recommended doses. A dose used in a trial is not shown to be the right dose, or a safe dose, for any person or animal. In people, oral carnosine is largely broken down within minutes; see Carnosinase and absorption. Talk to your doctor or vet.
Humans
- De 2026
Meta-analysis - Varied: mouthwashes, lozenges and mucoadhesive suspensions. Duration: Varied across included studies.
- Ali 2025
Open-label, no control group - Single escalating oral doses up to 15 g; long-term arm 5 g twice daily. Duration: Single doses, plus 4 weeks in the long-term arm.
- Beaven 2025
Randomised controlled trial - 10 mL carnosine gel or ultrasound placebo gel applied 40 minutes before exercise. Duration: two sessions, counterbalanced triple-blind crossover.
- Baba 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 2 g carnosine per day. Duration: 12 weeks (samples at 6 and 12 weeks).
- Hariharan 2024
Randomised controlled trial - 2 g carnosine per day. Duration: 14 weeks.
- Saadati 2023
Randomised controlled trial - 2 g carnosine per day. Duration: 14 weeks.
- Mahmoud 2022
Meta-analysis - Varied across included trials. Duration: Varied across included trials.
- Shen 2022
Randomised controlled trial - Polaprezinc tablets (dose not stated in abstract) versus rebamipide tablets. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Matthews 2021
Meta-analysis - Varied across included studies. Duration: Varied across included studies.
- Siriwattanasit 2021
Randomised controlled trial - 2 g carnosine per day, added to standard therapy. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Araminia 2020
Randomised controlled trial - 400 mg carnosine twice daily (800 mg per day). Duration: 6 weeks.
- Menon 2020
Meta-analysis - Varied across included studies. Duration: Varied across included studies.
- Dolan 2019
Meta-analysis - Varied across included studies. Duration: Varied across included studies.
- Dissette 2018
Laboratory study - 10 microlitres of gel: 1.50% L-carnosine with 1.64% magnesium salt (A); 1.50% free carnosine (B); 1.64% magnesium salt (C). Duration: single application for 24 hours, or repeat application at 24 hours for 48 hours total.
- Elbarbary 2018
Randomised controlled trial - 1 g carnosine per day. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Hajizadeh-Zaker 2018
Randomised controlled trial - 800 mg carnosine per day in two divided doses, added to risperidone up to 2 mg per day. Duration: 10 weeks.
- Houjeghani 2018
Randomised controlled trial - 1 g carnosine per day (two 500 mg capsules). Duration: 12 weeks.
- Saunders 2017
Meta-analysis - Chronic beta-alanine ingestion protocols only; doses varied. Duration: Varied across included studies.
- Davison 2016
Randomised controlled trial - Zinc carnosine, colostrum, both, or placebo (dose not stated in abstract). Duration: 14 days per arm, with standardised exercise on days 2 and 14.
- de 2016
Randomised controlled trial - 2 g carnosine per day. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Hisatsune 2016
Randomised controlled trial - 1.0 g per day of a 3:1 anserine/carnosine formula. Duration: 3 months.
- Sharpe 2016
Open-label, no control group - 10 mL of gel applied 45 minutes before testing. Duration: three test conditions separated by 3-day washouts.
- Doi 2015
Controlled trial - Polaprezinc mouth rinse four times a day. Duration: Throughout radiotherapy (60 to 66 Gy with chemotherapy).
- Lombardi 2015
Randomised controlled trial - 500 mg orodispersible L-carnosine once daily added to standard treatment. Duration: 6 months.
- Rokicki 2015
Randomised controlled trial - 500 mg imidazole dipeptide formula (carnosine to anserine ratio 1:3) twice daily, versus identical placebo. Duration: 3 months.
- Szczesniak 2014
Randomised controlled trial - 2.5 g per day of chicken meat extract supplying 1 g of anserine plus carnosine. Duration: 13 weeks.
- Baraniuk 2013
Randomised controlled trial - 500 mg, then 1000 mg, then 1500 mg carnosine per day, increased every 4 weeks. Duration: 12 weeks (randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled dose escalation).
- Stegen 2013
Controlled trial - study A: 4.8 g/day slow-release beta-alanine; study B: 3.2 g/day as pure beta-alanine between meals, pure beta-alanine at the start of meals, or slow-release beta-alanine at the start of meals. Duration: 5 weeks (study 1); 6 to 7 weeks (study 2).
- Watari 2013
Randomised controlled trial - 150 mg polaprezinc per day. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Chengappa 2012
Randomised controlled trial - 2 g carnosine per day, as adjunctive treatment (matched placebo comparison). Duration: 3 months; assessments at baseline, 4 and 12 weeks.
- del 2012
Randomised controlled trial - 3.2 g/day beta-alanine (sustained-release Carnosyn tablets, 800 mg twice, two times a day). Duration: 12 weeks.
- Dutka 2012
Laboratory study - 8 and 16 mM carnosine in the bathing solution.
- Everaert 2012
Open-label, no control group - 60 mg/kg body weight carnosine, single oral dose.
- Everaert 2011
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: cross-sectional.
- Baguet 2010
Randomised controlled trial - 5 g/day beta-alanine. Duration: 7 weeks.
- Kubomura 2010
Controlled trial - rats: anserine by intraperitoneal injection (doses not specified in abstract) and 0.1 mg intraduodenal; humans: oral dose not stated in abstract.
- Yeum 2010
Open-label, no control group - 450 mg pure carnosine, 150 g beef, 150 g chicken or broth from 150 g chicken, one dose per phase. Duration: single doses with more than 2 weeks washout between four phases; sampling to 5 hours (plasma) and 7 hours (urine).
- Baguet 2009
Randomised controlled trial - 4.8 g beta-alanine per day. Duration: 5 to 6 weeks of supplementation, then 9 weeks of washout.
- Kendrick 2009
Controlled trial - 6.4 g beta-alanine per day. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Van 2009
Randomised controlled trial - 2 to 4 g/day beta-alanine. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Boldyrev 2008
Controlled trial - not stated in abstract. Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Kendrick 2008
Randomised controlled trial - 6.4 g/day beta-alanine. Duration: 10 weeks.
- Derave 2007
Randomised controlled trial - 4.8 g/day beta-alanine. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Hill 2007
Controlled trial - beta-alanine (CarnoSyn), dose rising over the study (amount not stated in abstract). Duration: 4 weeks, extended to 10 weeks in a subgroup.
- Mahmood 2007
Laboratory study - cells: up to 100 micromol/L; rats: 5 mg/mL oral (gastric model); mice: 40 mg/mL oral (small intestine); humans: zinc carnosine 37.5 mg twice daily with indomethacin 50 mg three times daily. Duration: human arm: 5 days per treatment period.
- Harris 2006
Controlled trial - Single doses of beta-alanine at 10, 20 and 40 mg/kg body weight, or chicken broth supplying 40 mg/kg beta-alanine as histidine dipeptides; then 3 doses of 10 mg/kg per day for 15 days; then 3.2 g/day or 6.4 g/day beta-alanine (multiple doses of 400 or 800 mg), or an isomolar dose of L-carnosine, for 4 weeks. Duration: 4 weeks (chronic phase).
- Park 2005
Open-label, no control group - A single meal of 200 g cooked ground beef containing 124 mg carnosine per 100 g, about 248 mg carnosine in total. Duration: Single meal after an overnight fast and 48 hours without meat; blood sampled from before the meal through 24 hours.
- Babizhayev 2002
Randomised controlled trial - 1% N-acetylcarnosine eye drops twice daily. Duration: 6 months (trial 1) and 24 months (trial 2).
- Chez 2002
Randomised controlled trial - 800 mg carnosine per day. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Babizhayev 2001
Controlled trial - 1 percent N-acetylcarnosine eye drops, two drops twice daily. Duration: 6 months, with follow-up to 24 months.
- Petroff 1998
Open-label, no control group - vigabatrin 2 g/day and 4 g/day.
- Dunnett 1992
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Gardner 1991
Laboratory study - not stated in abstract. Duration: plasma and urine monitored for 5 hours after ingestion.
- Harris 1990
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: not applicable.
- Fleisher 1980
Case series - 100 mg/kg L-carnosine oral load.
- Sadikali 1975
Laboratory study - not applicable (enzyme assay); carnosine tolerance tests in one patient, amount not stated in abstract. Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Harris 1974
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
Dogs
- Hill 2012
Laboratory study - not stated in abstract (compound added to Ussing chamber solution). Duration: 180 minutes ex vivo.
- Dunnett 1992
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Harris 1990
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: not applicable.
Cats
- Panickar 2021
Controlled trial - control food; control plus 300 mg/kg L-carnitine; control plus 1000 mg/kg carnosine; control plus both. Duration: 169 days.
Horses
- Li 2024
Randomised controlled trial - beta-alanine 300 mg/kg body weight per day (test) versus alpha-alanine 300 mg/kg body weight per day (control). Duration: 30 days.
- Dieter 2021
Randomised controlled trial - carnosine plus a proprietary transdermal delivery agent, or the agent alone as placebo, applied over the middle gluteal muscle; amount not in the abstract. Duration: single application; biopsies at 0, 30, 60 and 120 minutes.
- Mori 2015
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Peiretti 2011
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Pacchini 2007
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: two standardised treadmill exercise tests 48 hours apart.
- Dunnett 2002
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: not stated.
- Dunnett 1999
Open-label, no control group - beta-alanine 100 mg/kg body weight plus L-histidine 12.5 mg/kg body weight, three times daily. Duration: 30 days.
- Dunnett 1997
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Dunnett 1997
Laboratory study - oral and intravenous N-acetylcarnosine doses were given; amounts not in the abstract. Duration: not stated.
- Dunnett 1996
Observational study - beta-alanine plus histidine for 30 days (dose not in abstract; the published version is Dunnett and Harris 1999: 100 mg/kg beta-alanine plus 12.5 mg/kg histidine three times daily). Duration: 30 days for the supplementation chapter.
- Dunnett 1995
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: single biopsy sampling.
- Dunnett 1992
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Sewell 1992
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: single biopsy sampling.
- Bump 1990
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: single biopsy sampling.
- Harris 1990
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: not applicable.
- Marlin 1989
Observational study - not applicable (no supplement given). Duration: single biopsy sampling.
Other animals
- Łochyński 2022
Controlled trial - 0.1% carnosine in drinking water, about 46 mg/kg body weight per day. Duration: 34 weeks or the last 10 weeks of a 34-week period.
- Caruso 2019
Laboratory study - up to 20 mM carnosine in culture medium (highest dose stated). Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Davis 2016
Meta-analysis - varied across studies; the authors report a clear dose-response relationship. Duration: varied; efficacy fell when carnosine was given more than 6 hours after ischaemia.
- Baykara 2014
Controlled trial - 100 mg/kg carnosine by nasogastric catheter 1 hour before each ethanol dose (ethanol 5 g/kg, three doses, given twice a day).
- Bae 2013
Controlled trial - not stated in abstract (intravenous, described as dose-dependent). Duration: single treatment given up to 6 hours (transient occlusion) or 9 hours (permanent occlusion) after stroke onset; outcomes followed to day 14.
- Everaert 2013
Laboratory study - carnosine 0.1%, 0.5% or 1.8%, or beta-alanine 0.6% or 1.2%, in drinking water. Duration: 8-12 weeks.
- Herculano 2013
Laboratory study - 5 mg/day. Duration: 6 weeks (high-fat diet 8 weeks).
- Ansurudeen 2012
Laboratory study - 100 mg/kg carnosine intraperitoneally every day, plus local application to the wound.
- Cartwright 2012
Laboratory study - 10 to 30 mM L-carnosine in culture medium.
- Horii 2012
Laboratory study - 3.3 mg/kg L-carnosine intraduodenally in rats; 1 mg/mL L-carnosine as the only drinking water in mice.
- Iovine 2012
Laboratory study - 50 to 100 mM carnosine in culture.
- Ma 2012
Laboratory study - 200 and 500 mg/kg carnosine.
- Peters 2012
Controlled trial - not stated in abstract. Duration: 4 weeks of carnosine treatment.
- Aldini 2011
Controlled trial - 30 mg/kg per day of L-carnosine or D-carnosine in drinking water. Duration: 24 weeks.
- Dursun 2011
Laboratory study - 10 mg/kg/day carnosine intraperitoneally; adriamycin 16 mg/kg single dose on day 14. Duration: 2 weeks before and continuing after adriamycin.
- Kim 2011
Controlled trial - 0.5% L-carnosine, or 0.25% L-carnosine plus 0.25% alpha-lipoic acid, or 0.5% alpha-lipoic acid in the diet. Duration: 6 weeks.
- Koppel 2011
Laboratory study - 20 mM L-carnosine in culture medium.
- Peiretti 2011
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Pfister 2011
Laboratory study - 1 g/kg body weight/day. Duration: 6 months.
- Riedl 2011
Laboratory study - 1 g/kg body weight per day L-carnosine. Duration: 3 months.
- Zhang 2011
Laboratory study - 250 mg/kg carnosine intraperitoneally, 30 minutes before hypoxia-ischaemia on postnatal day 7.
- Artun 2010
Laboratory study - 2 g/L in drinking water. Duration: 4 weeks of carnosine in drinking water before ethanol.
- Aydin 2010
Laboratory study - 250 mg/kg carnosine daily, intraperitoneal. Duration: 1 month.
- Aydin 2010
Laboratory study - 2 g carnosine per litre of drinking water; thioacetamide 200 mg/kg intraperitoneally twice weekly. Duration: 3 months.
- Drafi 2010
Laboratory study - 200 umol/L carnosine in vitro (methotrexate compared at up to 400 umol/L); animal dose not stated in abstract.
- Ko 2010
Laboratory study - polaprezinc 30 or 60 mg/kg once daily by mouth; ginger extract 1.5 to 5 g/kg. Duration: 3 days of dosing, killed on day 5.
- Kubomura 2010
Controlled trial - rats: anserine by intraperitoneal injection (doses not specified in abstract) and 0.1 mg intraduodenal; humans: oral dose not stated in abstract.
- Ma 2010
Controlled trial - 0, 25, 50 or 100 mg/kg of diet. Duration: 8 weeks.
- Noori 2010
Laboratory study - 10 mg/kg carnosine for 10 consecutive days; cisplatin 3 mg/kg on 5 alternate days. Duration: 10 days of carnosine.
- Ozel 2010
Laboratory study - 1 mg/kg/day carnosine orally; ethanol 2 g/kg/day intraperitoneally.
- Renner 2010
Controlled trial - 500 microlitres of 1 M carnosine solution daily by intraperitoneal injection; controls received intraperitoneal NaCl. Duration: 24 days of observation.
- Tsai 2010
Controlled trial - 0.5, 1 or 2 g/L carnosine in drinking water. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Jappar 2009
Laboratory study - 10 micromolar tritiated carnosine for uptake studies, with concentration-dependence experiments at varying substrate levels. Duration: not stated in abstract (time-course uptake experiments).
- Kamal 2009
Laboratory study - Single intravenous tail-vein bolus of tritiated carnosine, 1 nmol per g body weight. Duration: Serial blood sampling over 30 minutes with terminal collection of blood, CSF, urine and tissues at 30 minutes.
- Liu 2009
Laboratory study - 50 g/L or 20 g/L eye drops; 1.00, 0.10 and 0.01 g/L in lens culture medium. Duration: 3 weeks of eye drops; cultured lenses 1 week.
- Takahashi 2009
Laboratory study - Concentrations above 5 mM in culture.
- Yan 2009
Laboratory study - 0.5, 1 or 2 g/L in drinking water. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Derave 2008
Laboratory study - Creatine at 2 percent of food intake. Duration: 10 to 60 weeks of age.
- Fouad 2008
Laboratory study - 10 mg/kg/day carnosine intraperitoneally for 6 days, starting 3 days before a single 20 mg/kg cisplatin injection. Duration: 6 days.
- Fu 2008
Laboratory study - 5 mM carnosine for 18 hours before 5 microM Abeta42 for 24 hours.
- Haug 2008
Controlled trial - 1 g/kg histidine added to feed.
- Ibrahim 2008
Laboratory study - 0, 200 or 1000 mg carnosine per kg diet; vitamin E (as alpha-tocopheryl acetate) 0, 10 or 100 IU/kg diet. Duration: 15 weeks.
- Liu 2008
Laboratory study - 0.5, 1 or 2 g/L histidine or carnosine in drinking water. Duration: 3 weeks after chronic alcoholic liver injury was established.
- Mishima 2008
Controlled trial - diet containing chicken breast extract. Duration: 5 weeks.
- Sato 2008
Laboratory study - Oral LD50 testing; gavage of 500 or 2000 mg/kg/day chicken breast extract. Duration: 90 days.
- Yan 2008
Controlled trial - carnosine eye drops 5 mg/mL or 10 mg/mL to the left eye twice daily, starting on the day of streptozotocin injection. Duration: 13 to 14 weeks.
- Bauchart 2007
Laboratory study - Meat meals of 0.94 or 1.4 g protein/kg body weight (grilled top loin 20.7, neck and brisket 12.2, stewed shoulder 7.2 micromol carnosine/g).
- Cuzzocrea 2007
Controlled trial - 150 mg/kg/day carnosine by oral bolus. Duration: 1 week after bleomycin.
- Mahmood 2007
Laboratory study - cells: up to 100 micromol/L; rats: 5 mg/mL oral (gastric model); mice: 40 mg/mL oral (small intestine); humans: zinc carnosine 37.5 mg twice daily with indomethacin 50 mg three times daily. Duration: human arm: 5 days per treatment period.
- Rajanikant 2007
Controlled trial - not stated in abstract. Duration: not stated in abstract (carnosine given before and after ischaemia).
- Sauerhöfer 2007
Controlled trial - not stated in abstract (L-carnosine added to feed). Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Tomonaga 2007
Laboratory study - Single oral dose of chicken breast extract, 20 ml/kg.
- Kurata 2006
Laboratory study - 1.5 and 5 pmol/rat L-carnosine intracerebroventricularly; 15 nmol/rat intravenously.
- Lee 2005
Laboratory study - 0.5 or 1 g/L histidine or carnosine in drinking water. Duration: 4 weeks.
- Tomonaga 2005
Laboratory study - 3.2 micromol carnosine intracerebroventricularly.
- Dutka 2004
Laboratory study - 4, 8 and 16 mM carnosine applied to the cytoplasmic side of skinned fibres.
- Hobart 2004
Laboratory study - not stated in abstract. Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Fujii 2003
Laboratory study - 1 or 10 microg/kg L-carnosine intravenously before ischaemia; the higher dose also tested 5 minutes after reperfusion.
- Nagai 2003
Controlled trial - 0.1%, 0.01% or 0.001% L-carnosine in the diet; intraperitoneal and intracerebroventricular injections in other experiments.
- Bharadwaj 2002
Laboratory study - 1 microM carnosine pretreatment of cultured cells.
- Ishihara 2002
Controlled trial - 0.02% polaprezinc in chow. Duration: 12 weeks.
- Niijima 2002
Laboratory study - 1 microg L-carnosine intravenously for nerve recording; diet containing 0.0001 or 0.001 percent L-carnosine for blood pressure.
- Kato 2001
Controlled trial - polaprezinc 3 to 10 mg/kg by mouth twice daily; omeprazole 30 mg/kg by mouth once daily; recombinant human IGF-1 30 micrograms/kg subcutaneously twice daily. Duration: 14 days of treatment, starting 3 days after ulceration.
- Nagasawa 2001
Laboratory study - Carnosine 1 to 2.5 mM in vitro; histidine-supplemented diet in vivo. Duration: 13 days of histidine feeding.
- Gallant 2000
Controlled trial - not stated in abstract (given as a dietary supplement). Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Korolkiewicz 2000
Laboratory study - Polaprezinc 3 to 30 mg/kg, or zinc sulfate and L-carnosine alone or combined, orally twice daily. Duration: 4 days after HCl injury.
- Ririe 2000
Laboratory study - 0.625 to 20 mM carnosine applied to isolated aortic rings.
- Seidler 2000
Laboratory study - 1 to 20 mM carnosine. Duration: 4 days at 37 degrees C.
- McFarland 1999
Laboratory study - 50 mM carnosine in culture medium.
- Nishiwaki 1999
Laboratory study - polaprezinc 3 to 30 mg/kg by mouth before monochloramine (120 mM); more than 10 mg/kg by mouth twice daily for healing. Duration: 7 days (healing study).
- Seto 1999
Laboratory study - Polaprezinc 1 nM to 30 nM in culture.
- Zhou 1999
Laboratory study - 5 mM carnosine against 0.5 mM aldehyde. Duration: 1 hour at 40 degrees C, pH 7.4.
- O'Dowd 1998
Laboratory study - carnosine in rings up to 10 mM; binding assay with zinc at 10, 30 and 80 microM.
- Dunnett 1997
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.
- Zaloga 1997
Laboratory study - 1-10 mM in perfusate.
- Zapata-Sudo 1997
Laboratory study - 0.1 to 10 mM carnosine.
- Babizhayev 1996
Laboratory study - 1 percent N-acetylcarnosine or 1 percent carnosine to the rabbit eye.
- Holliday 1996
Laboratory study - Physiological concentrations in culture; 20 mM in the mixed-culture experiment.
- Hipkiss 1995
Laboratory study - not stated in abstract. Duration: not stated in abstract.
- McFarland 1994
Laboratory study - 20 to 50 mM carnosine in culture medium.
- Lamont 1992
Laboratory study - Millimolar concentrations, described as near physiological for many skeletal fibres; concentration-dependent.
- Kohen 1988
Laboratory study - physiological concentrations (as stated by the authors; exact values not stated in abstract). Duration: not applicable.
- Nagai 1986
Controlled trial - subcutaneous, 2 cm from the implantation site, starting the day after implantation; doses not stated in abstract.
- Greene 1984
Laboratory study - Compound 48/80 at 5 mg/kg intraperitoneally (carnosine itself was not administered).
- Fitzpatrick 1982
Controlled trial - 1 mg/100 g body weight/day carnosine or histidine, intraperitoneal. Duration: 7 days.
- Sadikali 1975
Laboratory study - not applicable (enzyme assay); carnosine tolerance tests in one patient, amount not stated in abstract. Duration: not stated in abstract.
- Gulewitsch 1900
Laboratory study - not applicable. Duration: not applicable.